Scrambled Eggs with Twist

Posted on

I grew up eating Pakistani food that my mother would cook quite often but she would also make us “American” for lunches and such.  I didn’t realize how much I like American food when I went overseas to Pakistan and would have Pakistani food night and day.  I would have the biggest cravings for a burger or for a simple sandwich, just anything that tasted American. 

I don’t think I’ve ever been denied Pakistani food so I haven’t had a chance to miss it.  I do love certain dishes and the best weekend mornings are when my mum makes Undai Payaaz ka Salan (Scrambled Eggs & Onion) with homemade flatbread.  I love the warm bread with the soft eggs and onion melting into your mouth. 

I was craving some in the past weekend and learned how to make it from my mum.  If your tired of plain ol’ scrambeled eggs, definitely try this recipe out.  Its quite simple and has a lot of flavour. 

Undai Payaaz ka Salan (Scrambled Eggs & Onion)

1 large onion, sliced

a pinch of whole cumin

1 1/2 tsp salt, divided

3 small green peppers

7-8 eggs

handful of chopped cilantro

2 stalks green onions, sliced

pinch of allspice

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp groud coriander

3/4 tsp red pepper

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

1/2 tsp black pepper

2tbs water

In a non-stick skillet, heat up some oil on medium heat.  Sautee onions with the whole cumin.  Add in 1/2 tsp salt and green peppers.  In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, cilantro, and green onions.  In a small bowl, combine allspice, 1 tsp salt, ground cumin & coriander, red pepper, turmeric, crushed red pepper, black pepper and 2 tbs water. 

Once onions are slightly brown, add in the spices mixture.  Mix well and stir in the egg mixture, stirring in circles till the egg mixture scrambles.  Take off heat and serve with homemade flat bread.

What type of food can you not live without?

5 thoughts on “Scrambled Eggs with Twist

    arshia said:
    June 20, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    sandwiches! i dont even care what’s in it most of the time. btw those lox sammies you were talking about previously… on my list :p

    Fatty said:
    June 22, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I love Undai Payaaz ka Salan… i cant live without biryani..lol..i am very desified..

    howtoeatacupcake said:
    July 12, 2010 at 7:16 am

    That’s a lot of ingredients for scrambled eggs, but I’m sure they are delicious! 😉

    Recipes in Urdu said:
    July 14, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Pakistan people should appreciate this collection.

    Aisha said:
    September 19, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Where you at man? I miss blog updates!

Leave a Reply

