Fruit?

Posted on

I had never been a fan of fruits in salads or food that isn’t dessert-like.  I didn’t understand why people did such a thing until I tried my friends CPK inspired Waldorf Salad and I was converted.  Who would have thought that apples, chicken, grapes, cheese, salad, walnuts played so well together.  It’s my favorite salad to date (even though CPKs Waldorf Salad is one of the most unhealthiest salads).  Since then, I’m more open to fruit being in random dishes. 

I had a ton of spinach leftover and with the constant stream of summer strawberries in my fridge, I just had to make this Strawberry Spinach Salad I came across.  Strawberries are quite amazing berries.  Not only are they wonderful in all the normal strawberry ways, they are amazing to make salsa with (sounds odd, yes I know but a must try!), and in salads. 

Strawberry Spinach Salad (from here)

4c baby spinach
1/3-1/2c candied or toasted nuts (I did almonds, but walnuts, pine nuts, or pecans can be options)
1-1 1/2c strawberries, diced

Tangy Poppyseed Dressing

1/3c sugar
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp dry mustard powder
1 Tbsp poppy seeds
1/3c red wine vinegar
1/4c canola oil

Toss the spinach, strawberries, and nuts in a large bowl.  In a small bowl, combine sugar, salt, mustard powder, poppyseed.  With a whisk, pour in the vinegar.  Slowly whisk in the oil.  Drizzle dressing as desired on salad. 

 

I took this bloggers advice as featuring this salad as a main dish with having sides of grilled corn, vegetables skewers, chicken, and roasted potatoes.  It was an amazing dinner that was quick and easy to throw together that everyone in the house helped throw together. 

One of my friends just got back from touring Spain and was kind enough to bring back a cookbook for me. 

Can’t wait to try out the recipe.  Thanks Egg!

Today I will be make a Rhubarb-Strawberry Coffee Cake and hopefully Scones to bring to a brunch tomorrow.  I’m really excited to finally try rhubarb!

One thought on “Fruit?

    Fatty said:
    June 22, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Try this in your spinach and strawberry salad:
    feta cheese
    cranberries

    It tastes awesome…

Leave a Reply

