Kiss Kiss

Posted on

I feel like egg whites are sort of magical.  You can whip them up with some sugar and use it as a frosting, make pavlova, eton mess, bake them, fold them to make light and airy treats, and probably so many other things.  I tried making pavlova a long time ago and it was an utter weepy mess so I was hesitant to try to make meringue kisses.

I had to try again though since the pavlova mess was when I was a lot younger and inexperienced.  The only downside to these kisses is that they take about two hours to bake and me being impatient wanting to taste things right away was a challenge.  At least 3 kisses were missing before they came out of the oven done.  😡

Chocolate-Coffee Meringue Kisses (adapted from here)

4 large egg whites
1 cup sugar
pinch cream of tartar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup unsweetened dutch processed cocoa

1/2 tsp of instant coffee

Preheat oven to 175F.  In a large heatproof bowl, combine the egg whites, sugar, and cream of tartar and set over a pot of simmering water.  Whisk the ingredients until the sugar has dissolved into the egg whites (3-4 min).  Take the bowl off the pot and using a mixer, beat the egg whites until stiff glossy peaks.  Stir in vanilla.  Sift the cocoa and coffee over the egg whites and fold in till combined.

Fill the egg white mixture into a pastry bag with a large star tip and pipe quarter sized meringues onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake for about 2 hrs, until they lift off easily from the paper.  For any extras you won’t be eating right away, you can turn off the oven and leave the kisses in there so they dry well.  Store in a air-tight container.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Seeing that I had 4 extra yolks on hand, I decided to make the pastry cream from my cream puff recipe.   I chopped up some strawberries and bananas, mixed it in and let it cool in the fridge.  Scrumptious custard!

I was looking through some old post the other day and realized that I missed my blogs 1st birthday!  How horrible of me.  I really can’t believe that it’s been a year already and surprised of all the things I’ve come to learn through writing and experimenting on this blog.  Hope everyone has enjoyed it as much as I did.

And sorry no pics, the camera battery has died and i cant find the charger.  Plus theyre all gone!

2 thoughts on “Kiss Kiss

    scooreonate said:
    May 15, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      May 16, 2010 at 11:35 pm

      Thank you so much for commenting and appreciating my work!

Leave a Reply

