Poached Pears

Posted on

I can’t believe I haven’t posted here in over 2 weeks which has been a record for me!  Along with things being pretty hectic, I was pretty uninspired again…Usually there’s always something I want to desperately but nothing sparked  my interest. 

People were nagging me to please make something & so I finally pushed myself to find something I wanted to make. When I was a little girl, I remember eating a poached pear and it was utterly delectable.  I don’t know if I knew it was a poached pear at the time, but I always wanted to make/have it again.  Since there was an excess of pears in the house I decided to give it a go.

It is usually poached in wine but my rendition is with water.  For another non-alcoholic choice you can use sparkling cider.  The base of making poached pears is pretty much the same and you can add to it as you please. 

  

Poached Pears

Base

5 cups water

4 Bosc pears, pealed leaving stem in place

2 cups sugar ( I only used 1 3/4)

Additions-Spiced Version

Fresh Ginger

Star Anise

Lemon/Orange Zest

Cloves

Cinnamon Stick

Vanilla Bean, split lengthwise & scraped, to put seeds & pod in mixture

Additons- Floral

Dried lavender or Lemon Balm

Mix the sugar and water in a sauce pan and heat till sugar is dissolved.  Add in your version of additions.  Slice off a little bit of the bottom of the pears so they can sit flat in the pot. Make sure the sugar-water is at a slow simmer and place the pears in the sauce pan so they’re completely submerged.  If they aren’t submerged standing up, you can lay them on their sides, turning them occasionally when cooking. 

Cook for about 7 min, or until they are easily pierced with a fork.  Cool the pears in the liquid.  If you want to make a syrup out of the liquid, strain out the pears & additions & reduce the sugar-water till it has a syrup consistencies.  At this point you can add in raisins, currants, dried cherries or cranberries so they can plump up. 

Serve the poached pears with simply the syrup or you can serve it with cake, ice cream, chocolate sauce, whipped cream, or crème fraîche.

2 thoughts on “Poached Pears

    arshia said:
    April 6, 2010 at 2:13 am

    not a big fan of pears, but that looks easy and good! i might have to try this for myself. 🙂

    fatboywholoveschocolateindisguise said:
    April 14, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    mmm, i wonder how pear butter would taste made from that poached goodness of a pear!

Leave a Reply

