Baked Goods Dilemma

Posted on Updated on

I’m having such a dilemma with baked goods.  I don’t buy them from outside because the ingredients just horrify me.  And when I make it at home, I tend to eat more because there’s a whole bunch right there in the kitchen calling out to me.  Each time passing through the kitchen, sneaking in a bite or two….or threee.  And if I do buy them from outside, theyre expensive and far.  I guess I don’t mind the expensive part if it saves my waist line, but I can’t be buying expensive sweets each day.  And I feel like I must have a little sweet each day, just to satisfy my sweet tooth.  And oh my, Girl Scout cookies just came in.

I went to this new cupcake shop called Frosted Betty a week ago and I’m so wanting to go back, but it’s pretty far from my place.  I ordered two chocolate cupcakes, one with mint frosting & the other with raspberry.  The mint one was like eating toothpaste…which I guess that’s what it’s suppose to be like but it could be a dab less stronger.  The raspberry one was soooo scrumptious.  They have a trailer that goes around town so I’m going to hunt them down soon.  Hands down, they are better than Crave Cupcakes, which I found to be dense, really expensive, and just not good.  I also like Frosted Betty because they use fresh, local, organic ingredients and use recyclable packaging.  You can really taste the non-processed-ness in the cupcakes.

Even though Girl Scout cookies came in today, I felt the need to bake something.  I feel like this recipe accomplishes many first for me as I’ve never really baked with oatmeal, browned butter, or made bars before.

Browned Butter & Chocolate Oatmeal Bars (from here)

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup (4 1/2 oz.) semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter 1 cup dark brown sugar
1 large egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 oz. white chocolate, chopped
1/2 tbsp vegetable shortening

Start by melting the butter in a small sauce pan.  It will take 12-15 min for the butter to brown.  Stir frequently while going onto preparing the mix.  Preheat the oven to 350 F.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, salt, and baking soda.  Put the chocolate chips in a large bowl.  Line a 9X13 baking pan with foil, having the foil go over the sides of the pan.  Once the butter has gotten golden brown, whisk it onto the chocolate chips until it’s a smooth mixture.  Stir in the brown sugar.  Add in the egg and vanilla.  In two additions, mix in the flour-oat mixture until combined.

Press the mixture into the lined pan.  Bake for about 15-20 min.  Take out once an inserted tooth pick comes out clean.  With a plastic knife, carefully cut into squares.  In a small bowl, microwave the shortening and white chocolate in intervals until melted.  Drizzle on top of squares.  Let cool for 2 hours and lift the bars out using the extended foil.

These bars weren’t too sweet and were so yummy and chewy.  They were pretty easy to make too.  I got most of everything done while the butter browned, the rest was just mixing everything together.  I was hesitant when I put the bars into the oven but I love the texture the oatmeal gives the bars, and the flavor the browned butter gives.

4 thoughts on “Baked Goods Dilemma

    Cookin' Canuck said:
    February 21, 2010 at 9:58 am

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this recipe. Thanks for linking to my site!

    arshia said:
    February 23, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    that looks soooo good. do you think taking some of the butter away would change much? instead of using two sticks, maybe one or one and a half?

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      February 27, 2010 at 11:39 pm

      hmm mostly i reduce the amount of butter by 4 tbs with 1/4 cup of applesauce. i just didnt want to do it here since it was my first time making bars and brown butter.

      another way of taking care of 2 sticks of butter is….controlling how much you eat. but i guess if u reduce the fat…ur opt to eat more

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!! said:
    March 17, 2010 at 10:42 am

    IT HAD 2 STICKS OF BUTTER IN IT?!?!?!?!?!?

    GRR…

Leave a Reply

