Pumpkin Goodness

Posted on Updated on

I’ve made pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin bread, pumpkin cake, but I’ve never made pumpkin cookies before.  I’ve heard they’re super amazing so as I was doing some grocery shopping, I picked up a can of some pumpkin purée to find out what I was missing out on.  And sure enough, I was missing out BIG time.  Pumpkin and chocolate is got to be “up there” in my favorite combinations.  They pair wonderfully and it’s nice change to typical chocolate chip cookies (not that there’s anything wrong with them in the first place 🙂 )

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies (from here)

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup canola or corn oil

1 cup canned pumpkin

1 cup chocolate chips, or any chip you like

Preheat the oven to 325 F.  In a bowl, whip together the sugar and the eggs for about a minute.  On low speed, mix in the oil and pumpkin.  Turn the mixer off and stir in all dry ingredients, flour, baking soda & powder, salt, cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon.  Fold in the chocolate chips. 

Using a tablespoon or an ice cream scoop, lay mounds of dough evenly spaced on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake them for about 15 min, until tops are firm.  Let them cool down before biting into them!

When I was looking up the recipe for this, all I could find was cake-like cookies which I’m not a fan of at all.  I couldn’t find anything different so I went ahead and tried this recipe and it turned out perfectly! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I had a half a gallon of whole milk that was close to expiring and I knew I wouldn’t finish it in time.  Have no fear, yogurt is here! 

Yogurt is an easy and useful way to use up whole milk that is about to go bad.  We eat and cook with a lot of yogurt at home so any extra is sure to be used up.  During the summer I would mix fresh berries into homemade yogurt for a light cool snack. 

Homemade Yogurt

half a gallon to a gallon of whole milk

pinch of salt

pinch of sugar

1.5-2 tbs of store-bought yogurt

In a pot large enough to hold the milk, heat the milk on low till the milk starts to boil.  Take off heat and let it cool down till lukewarm.  Heat up the oven to around 250F for 3-4 min and turn it off.  Put in the sugar, salt, and store yogurt.  With an immersion blender, blend all ingredients together.   Pour into a container that won’t melt and will easily keep in the fridge.  Cover with foil and leave in the oven overnight. In the morning, place it in the fridge to cool before eating.

Leave a Reply

