Dump, Mix, & Bake

Posted on Updated on

Whenever fall rolls around, I go a little pumpkin crazy.  Pumpkin bread, pumpkin cake, pumpkin cheescake….although I have yet to try pumpkin chocolate chip cookies!  I once even made pumpkin bread by making my own pumpkin puree.  Somehow this fall, I did not go into pumpkin madness.  I think I would of completely left out pumpkiness this fall had it not been requested. 

The first time I made pumpkin cake, (the start to my pumpkin-fall craze) I was horrified by the smell of the  puree.  I had already made most of the batter and when it came time to crank open the can, I was stunned.  I don’t even know why I bothered completing the cake, but thankfully I did.  Because out came such a scrumdiddlyumptious cake!

I don’t frost mine, because I don’t want it to be too sweet.  But if you want to make a layer cake or make it a little more fancier, some frosting would be nice.  I just love it without it. 

Pumpkin Cake (adapted by here)

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cloves
1/2 cup oil + 1/2 cup unsweetned apple sauce*
4 eggs
1 (15-oz.) can (2 cups) pumpkin
1/2 cup Sun-Maid Natural Raisins

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Combine all ingredients in a bowl except for raisins.  Beat with a mixer for 1-2 mintues, until everything is combined.  Fold in raisins.  Pour into a greased 13X9 baking pan for one layer.  Cook until inserted toothpick comes out clean. 

*if you don’t have any applesauce on you, you can just use oil.  I wouldn’t use a whole cup of oil though because the cake comes out too greasy.  3/4 cup should be enough

This cake is just too easy.  It’s just dump, mix, and bake.  No need to cream, whip, seperate.

3 thoughts on “Dump, Mix, & Bake

    amirao21 said:
    December 16, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    I LOVE PUMPKIN! I understand the pumpkin craze around the beginning of Fall until the end of the year…I had Einstein’s pumpkin muffin for almost two weeks straight.

    Just so damn good.

    amirao21 said:
    December 16, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    also I’m adding you to my blogroll, weather you like it or not.

    but if not, then shoot me an email…=)

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      December 17, 2009 at 12:18 am

      lol id love to be on your blogrollll

Leave a Reply

