Mr. Benedict

Posted on

It’s weird how I somehow make up stuff in my head and start believing it.  I’ve always wanted Eggs Benedict but I could never order it at a diner since most places only offer it with ham/bacon, and I don’t eat pork.  I never thought of making it myself with some smoked salmon. 

I recently learned how to poach eggs but I always thought that Hollandaise sauce is super difficult and easy to mess up.  So even after poaching eggs, I never got enough courage to try making Hollandaise sauce.  On top of that, smoked salmon is quite pricey for such a little piece. 

Last weekend’s breakfast, we finally bought smoked salmon and instead of a Hollandaise, we used sour cream….ya I really don’t know why.  It was pretty good but everyone wanted the real stuff, as sour cream is a pretty lame substitution.  Sigh, okay I’ll give it a try. 

I dragged myself into the kitchen and got ready to face this head-on.  Mixing, mixing, mixing……ahhhhhh I think I killed it..noo nooo noooo….wait wait, hmm….I think it’s coming together…..yes….YES SCOOOREE!  wow..that was pretty simple….I don’t know why I built it up in my head to be so difficult. 

The sauce was perfect and went really well with the eggs.  The only problem I had was that the smoked salmon we bought was expired and smelled like….well it smelled like rotten fish :/  I had to use roast beef instead which was okay, but I rather have smooth soft melt-in-your-mouth salmon. 

Freshly squeezed orange juice

Hollandaise Sauce

3-4 egg yolks

3/4 stick butter, cut into pieces

1 tbs cream, half & half, or water

1 tbs lemon juice or white vinegar

1/2 tsp salt

dash of cayenne pepper

In a double boiler, whisk the egg yolks with the cream (or half & half or water) constantly until the mixture gets a little thick and creamy.  Take off heat and stir in the butter until it’s melted and incorporated.  Stir in remaining ingredients. 

Assemble by toasting your english muffin and placing a piece of meat on top of it.  Add the poached egg as the next layer and dollop with as much Hollandaise as desired.  Crack fresh black pepper over the top. 

You can use the egg whites to  make a simple scramble and top it with hollandaise if you don’t have anything else to you is it for. 

There’s a ton of different version of Egg’s Benedict but this is as traditional you can get, minus the salmon.  The various adjustments are made according to the region and influence of the people. 

Now I’m craving some more…

One thought on “Mr. Benedict

    Hadiya said:
    December 14, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    you should use the turkey bacon next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

