More Whipped Whites

Posted on Updated on

I hadn’t baked in a while and my hands were itching to make something.  I recently had seen a recipe for chiffon cake that I wanted to try and it didn’t look too hard.  I’ve never made a chiffon but had plenty of experience folding whipped whites into cakes and mousses. 

In the end, it was easy to make but the suggested bake time was too long and I think I over cooked it, thus making it a little dry.  I also thought it wasn’t sweet enough.  I don’t like terribly sweet things but there wasn’t much of any sweetness to the cake.  This might have been my mistake being scared to put too much powdered sugar into the cake because a little goes a long way in frosting.  I had some Orange Blossom Honey though that went perfectly with it and a lil dab did jus the trick!  I also used fresh orange juice that I squeezed so it also lacked the extra sugaryness that store-bought OJ has. 

yehh....it kinda came out in 2 pieces :/

Orange Chiffon Cake (from here)

6 Large Eggs, separated plus 1 additional Egg White
2 1/4 Cups Sifted Cake Flour
1 1/4 Cups Superfine White Sugar
1 Tbsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Sea Salt
1/2 Cup Vegetable Oil
3/4 Cup Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice
2 Tbsp Orange Zest
3/4 tsp Cream of Tartar

Separate the eggs and allow to come to room temperature.  Preheat oven to 325 F.  Mix together the flour, sea salt, baking powder, and sugar (minus 3 tbs).  Make a well and place the yolks into the well along with the oil, orange juice, and zest. Beat for a minute. 

In a separate bowl, beat the eggs until foamy.  Add in the cream of tartar.  Once the egg whites get white and not clear, and in the remaining 3 tbs of sugar.  Gently fold this mixture into the flour mixture. 

Pour into a tube pan (I used a bunt pan) and bake in the oven for about 40 min.  The cake is done when a toothpick comes out clean when inserted or when the cake springs back when touched.  Take out of the oven and flip over onto a bottle to cool for about an hour.  (your cake shouldn’t fall out since you’re not suppose to grease the pan). 

It’s a little hard to get out but run a spatula/plastic knife around the outer and inner sides of the cake. 

I was grocery shopping at Whole Foods today and saw some rugelach.  I’ve never heard of them till foodgawker and always wanted to try some.  I didn’t know what it really was though except it looked like a crescent with different fillings.  It’s actually a Jewish pastry eaten after the meal on Sabbath made from a cream cheese dough.  There was raspberry, apricot, and chocolate rugelach and I went with the chocolate.  definitely will be trying to make some or trying the other flavors.

 

Leave a Reply

