Rose wah?

Posted on

I was enjoying a nice run at a local park and just as I was finishing my last couple minutes, I saw this little lady picking something off the branches/bush.  As I turned my head, I noticed she was picking these little red berry-ish looking things but they were smaller and circular.  I couldn’t help but to slow down and ask her what she was picking.  The lady kindly replied to tell me she was picking rose hip, like it was something totally normal. 

My curiosity grew and I went on to ask her what she was picking them for.  Of course, of course she was picking them to make rose hip tea!  How could I have not known?  I got home and started looking up the benefits of rose hip tea.  I had heard of rose hip before but never really knew what it was. 

Rose hips are the fruit of the rose plant.  (Duh)  They grow after the rose’s bloom has died.  They can be used to make teas, jellies, syrup, and marmalade.  They have a high content of Vitamin C, more than any fruit or vege.  (During WWII the British made a Vitamin C syrup out of wild rose hip because German vessels were sinking commercial ships that imported citrus fruits from the tropics).  I wonder why oranges are so highly promoted as a great source of vitamin C and rose hips are so rarely heard of. 

Everytime I’d go for a run, I’d think about picking some and bringing it home.  My last run there I made up my mind and got picking.  After getting stuck and poked by the thorns I got a pretty good handful.  I came home in hopes to make some tea but I don’t think the rose hips were big enough.  I found some larger one at Central Market though.  Everyone at home was like what is that? Rose wah? Aren’t those poisonous? 

Oh, if you crack a rose hip open, there’s these fuzzy hair-like thing inside that can be used as itching powder.  You might be able to concoct your own practical joke. 😉

4 thoughts on “Rose wah?

    Aisha said:
    December 11, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    I always wondered what those things were…always thought there was something wrong with my rose plant. Hmm, tea eh?

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      December 13, 2009 at 3:30 pm

      we learn something every day ay

    MenNuatte said:
    December 12, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Waow loved reading this post. I submitted your feed to my reader!!

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      December 13, 2009 at 3:29 pm

      glad to have you submit to my feed!

Leave a Reply

