An Old Time Tradition

Posted on Updated on

PA310318

I’m typically a health conscious person but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy my sweets.  Give me a chocolate-chip cookie and I’ll be your best friend.  I do, though, alter my recipes so they aren’t as caloric as they should be.  And the best part is, no one knows the difference except for me (insert evil smile).  But some things just cannot be altered, like pie crust that needs all that butter to make a nice fluffy crust.  

Just like pie crust, my childhood favorite sweet, Ande ki Mithai, cannot be altered.  You might have a heart attack by just reading how bad it is for you, and for the people who know me, shocked that I would even make something like this.   The thing is, I love foods that bring me back to my childhood.  It brings me back to the days where the only responsibility you had was to go out and play.  

I remember my grandmother standing over the stove endlessly making Ande ki Mithai, mixing and mixing.  There would be a box of it on top of the fridge so that the kids wouldn’t eat it all up in a day. 

Ande ki Mithai, which roughly translates to Egg Sweets, is a Pakistani/Indian sweet that is made from eggs, sugar, and clarified butter, ghee.  It was a traditional dessert served at weddings back-in-the-day.   There are several different types of mithai/sweets which has God knows how much butter and sugar but this mithai will give you a rough estimate.  It doesn’t taste like eggs, so egg-haters give it a chance. 

Ande ki Mithai (from my Grandmother)

 1 tsp ground cardamom

 a pinch of saffron

 equal ratios of egg, sugar, and butter

 crushed pistachios for garnish

Last night I made this out of 2 dozen eggs, but I’ve made it with 1 dozen before.  2 dozen eggs came out to 5 2/3 cups, so 5 2/3 cups of sugar and 5 2/3 cups of clarified butter went in (you can substitute some clarified butter, about a cup with shortening so it isn’t as heavy).Place all ingredients in a large pot and put it on medium heat on the stove. 

Continuously stir the mixture around.  The key to this is to never stop stirring.  This process takes a long time, about an hour and half with 1 dozen and 2-2.5 hrs with 2 dozen eggs.  Have a few people around you to take turns stirring.  If you stop stirring, the eggs will cook into a sweet scrambled eggs and your efforts will be wasted. 

PA310329
Slightly Curdled Stage

After some time, it will go from a liquid mixture to a slightly curdled-looking mixture.  Near the end, the mixture will be come a crumbly mixture.  At this time, take it off the heat and put into a glass dish.  Garnish with the pistachios and press them in so they stick.  After 5-10 min, take a large sharp knife and cut the mithai into squares.  Let it cool from few hours or overnight before eating so the mithai can come together and stay in squares, instead of crumbling all over the place. 

PA310337

I think I’m not allowed to make this again for at least another year, probably until everyone forgets how long this took. 

 On another note, I found this interesting article, The Carnivore’s Dilemma which talks about the different ways meat, dairy, and soy production affect the environment.   

 

 

PB010338
Afternoon Snack: Ambrosia apples (left) Jazz apples (right) peanut butter & raisins

 

One thought on “An Old Time Tradition

    Uzairah Abdul Hameed said:
    December 15, 2015 at 4:45 am

    Thank you so much for the recipe.. I gave a surprise with this to my husband on his birthday..and he enjoyed it!!! I felt I was the happiest wife in the world that day.

Leave a Reply

