Mind-Reading

Posted on

I love how foodgawker reads my mind so often!  I had quite a bit of ricotta left from making ravioli and was trying to think what I could do with it.  And there it was, a ricotta pancake recipe!  I’ve never heard of ricotta pancakes but I was willing to have a little change from my favorite buttermilk pancakes.

I also just bought this non-stick flat pan thats perfect for making pancakes and crepes.  Usually as a rule, I don’t make special breakfasts during the weekdays such as pancakes and waffles but I simply could not wait the whole week.  I woke up earlier than usual so I had enough time to flip cakes.

Ricotta Pancakes (adapted from here)

2 eggs

1/4 c unsalted butter, melted

1 c milk

1 c ricotta

1/4 c white sugar

1/4 c brown sugar

1 1/4 c flour

1 tsp baking powder.

Combine eggs, butter, milk, ricotta, white and brown sugar using a whisk.  Stir in the flour and baking powder.  Heat some butter on a non-stick pan and pour out desired amount of batter, depending upon how big you want your pancakes.  Cook until bubbles appear on top and flip to cook the other side 1-2 min.  Continue until all batter is used.

I had some strawberries and bananas that needed to be used so I added them to some of the pancakes after I poured the batter onto the pan.  I also mixed in a little bit of cocoa when I had used most of the batter for some chocolate pancakes.

I was running late so I packed these pancakes for me and my carpoolers to-go.  They were nice and thin, very different from the fluffy buttermilk ones.  However, they were pretty filling which I didn’t realize until after I was done eating them.  You could also flavor them with orange zest like the original recipe.  This has made me fairly interested in trying different types of pancakes such as multi-grain and whole wheat.

PA190286

Leave a Reply

