Texas State Fair

Posted on Updated on

This past weekend I was expecting people from out of town but I was the one who ended up going out of town last minute.  I woke up at the crack of dawn on Saturday and arrived in Dallas right before noon.  There was much to do when I got there as there was a big dinner planned for that evening. 

I ended up cooking some Palak Paneer to balance out all the meat-filled dishes that were on the menu.  I decided to use frozen spinach and paneer because it would take wayyy too long to make everything fresh.  Nevertheless, I received numerous compliments that night. 

During dinner, I inquired if the Texas State Fair was still going on.  Coincidently it was and Sunday was the last day!  And someone had 12 free tickets.  How could I not go?  We made plans for the next morning and decided to ride the DART down to the fair (DART was amazing…I felt like such a New Yorker :)).  The train was packed with people all headed towards the fair. 

Now one of the things that the Fair is well known for is the food there.  You can find just about anything fried there, even a Fried Latte and Fried Butter (what in the….?).  Way to up the stats of obesity in Texas.  Here are some of the things we tried at the fair:

 

Fried Oreo Cookies
Fried Oreo Cookies
They basically tasted like warm oreos with a soft fried batter around them. 
Fried Green Tomatoes
Fried Green Tomatoes
I’ve been wanting to try these out for forever!  I can’t believe they’re such a rare find.  They’re so yummy with ranch dressing.  This is a traditional southern side dish that is usually dredged in buttermilk and cornmeal and then pan-fried. 
Half-eaten Strawberry Funnel Cake
Half-eaten Strawberry Funnel Cake
Funnel cakes are a must at any fair!
 
Texas Shaped Nacho
Texas Shaped Nacho
 
And lastly, a shot of a building in downtown Dallas. 
 
 
downtown

The fair was pretty interesting with different performances, auto shows, rides, games and so much more.  It was quite expensive though.  In no way did it look like the bad economy had kept people away.  My feet were killing me by the end and I still had a long drive all the way back home. And many miles to run off all that fried food!

4 thoughts on “Texas State Fair

    Sara Ali said:
    October 21, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    oh man…fried butter and lattes and oreo cookies???
    paaaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssssssss

    I can’t do all that.
    but def the funnel cakes! 🙂

    p.s. great shot on the building. and I know I just told you I was studying but I couldn’t help but be distracted.

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      October 21, 2009 at 10:49 pm

      haha u were jus easssing into study mode 😉

    amnah said:
    October 24, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    i love wat u did to my face lol

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      October 24, 2009 at 3:13 pm

      🙂

Leave a Reply

