Update

Posted on Updated on

I have some exciting news for my fellow readers.  In order to reach more people, my blog will be interfaced with a local online newsletter called Shabab Ul-Haq.  I’m honored to be able to contribute to their newsletter and look forward to hearing from new readers.   

To give the newbies a little update about my blog, I started blogging mid-March.  Here is my first post to get some background info.  Currently I’m focusing on making things off of my List, dishes that I’ve been wanting to make for a while ( I’m a big list-maker and goal-setter…otherwise I feel like I’m just wandering in empty space.)  I started this blog so I can keep track of my recipes, a motivation to learn new dishes, and learn and share with people about one of the most basic human needs, food.

Last night was another List featured dish where I made fresh pasta.  The recipe that I found for the pasta called for semolina flour.  Semolina flour comes from the Latin word, meaning “flour.”  It’s mostly used to make pasta, which is why most recipes call for this type of flour.  In Pakistan, it is known as sooji

I tried making ravioli with this pasta and although it came out to be eatable, the pasta seemed heavy.  I was only able to eat 4 pieces even though I had rolled out the pasta pretty thin. It took a lot of rolling, cutting, and filling which serves a problem when my tummy is rumbling.   When I had made fresh pasta in lab when I was in school, we used All-purpose flour and don’t remember it being heavy at all.  Will have to try using AP flour. 

The sauce that went with the ravioli was amazing.  It was really simple and health friendly.  I was skeptical when I read that it was a yogurt based sauce but it clearly exceeded my expectations. 

Ravioli Sauce (adapted from here)

24 0z plain yogurt

1 egg, beaten

1 tsp cornstarch

1 tbs dried mint

1 tsp minced garlic

2 tbs roasted pine nuts

olive or canola oil

In a sauce pan on medium heat,  combine yogurt, egg, and cornstarch.  Stir occasionally so the sauce doesn’t separate.  In a frying pan, heat up a little bit of olive or canola oil.  Add dried mint and garlic.  Sautee for a minute or two till the mint and garlic combine.  Add this to the yogurt mixture and combine.  Take off heat and garnish with pine nuts.  The pasta can be cooked in the sauce or it can boiled in water and mixed into the sauce. 

 

I didn’t take any pictures since the ravioli was quite deformed.  There were some sad tortellini attempts too. 

Oh, and I found this comic that pretty much explains what I’m thinking when going through the aisles of the grocery store. 

honest_labels_600

Leave a Reply

