The Joys of Fall

Posted on Updated on

The downpour has continued and has relieved us all of our grass-watering duties.  I was out running errands right before the first rain of the day.  The sky was enveloped in darkness with winds whirling leaves around, foreshadowing a heavy storm.

My thoughts:  coffee, hot cocoa, soup, coffee

 

Funny pic I found on a friends blog
Funny pic I found on a friend's blog

 

As soon as I got back home, I made some coffee and headed towards the computer to check out the carrot soup recipe I was looking at before.  I had a ton of carrots in the fridge that were screaming to be eaten so it was perfect.  My only reservation was the fear of an overpowering carrot-y taste kind of like when you drink carrot juice.  I don’t think I could have handled a bowl full of that. 

I began chopping up all the ingredients and made mum chop my onion for me.  I don’t know what it is with me and onions.  I cry like theres no tomorrow and can barely see what I’m doing which is quite hazardous seeing that I’m using a knife to slice so close to my fingers.  Once when I had a ton of onion chopping to do with no help, I took out my swimming goggles to shield my eyes and it worked like a charm!  My dad walked into the kitchen, shrugged his shoulders and walked away.  I think he’s learned to not ask for explanations….;)

After everything was chopped and thrown into the pot, all I had to do is wait for it to cook.  All that was left was blending everything together with an immersion blender (which is the best thing ever!).  I got out my soup bowl and dove right in.  definitely not carrot-y.  Just a bowl of warm scrumptious comfort. 

Whats interesting about this recipe is that it uses an apple.  Huh? An apple?  Yes, the apple brings more depth of flavor to the dish.  I was weirded out when I read it but it went beautifully with the soup. 

Carrot Soup (from here)

1 tbs olive oil

1 tbs butter

1 onion, chopped

1 garlic, minced

1 green apple ( I used ol’Granny), chopped

1 1/4 lb carrots, sliced

1 russet or starchy potato, chopped

2 tbs ginger, freshly grated

6 cups water

1/2 tsp ground coriander

dash of nutmeg

1/2 cup cream

salt and pepper to taste

In a 6qt pot, heat oil and add garlic and onions to it.  Cook till onion are clear.  Add the water, potato, apple, carrots, coriander, and ginger.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cook for about 20-25 min until carrots are tender.  Using an immersion blender, puree everything till smooth.  Add in cream, nutmeg and adjust seasonings.  Serve with some sliced baguette or enjoy it on its own. 

A Lil Nibble  was just asking me today what my Fall “thing” would be this year since last year I had made a lot of Pumpkin Cake (I’ll post it up soon).  And it seems like it will be soup.  I’m in love with soup.  So easy to make, healthful, and I can eat leftovers easily throughout the week for lunch.  Need to have some baguettes on hand.

Leave a Reply

