Velvety Clouds?

Posted on Updated on

I have my phases of falling in love with certain blogs and I secretly wish I could get to know these awesome food bloggers.  I spend way too long reading their posts and yummy recipes.  My latest obsession is Tony Tahan’s blog.  The first time I ran across his blog was when he wrote his Gnocchi recipe.   I had totally forgotten about his blog until the Spinach Fatayer and was totally taken away. 

I decided to finally make the Gnocchi recipe the other day.  It seemed pretty simple, potato, flour and an egg.  I’ve made fresh pasta before in lab so I didn’t think it’d be too different.  But to my dismay, I couldn’t get the dough to come together and not be sticky.  I kept on adding flour but it only helped some.  Finally I decided to boil the semi-sticky gnocchi and eat them with some pasta sauce.  They weren’t like the “velvety clouds” that everyone seems to describe them as and I felt weighed down by the amount of flour. 

I’m sure I messed up somewhere or another.  But I haven’t given up on these clouds.  I will try making these again sometime in the future when the freshness of this experience fades.  Or buying them at the store and seeing what they’re like.  So instead of posting the recipe up, here is some info about gnocchi. 

Gnocchi is pronounced as “nee-okkee” which means lumps.  It’s a traditional type of pasta originating from the Middle East since the Roman times.  Some say it’s been dated back to the 13th century, making it one of the oldest ways to prepare food.  Depending upon the region, gnocchi can be made from semolina, wheat flour, bread crumbs, ricotta, or potatoes   They can be eaten as an entree with a variety of sauces or in soups. 

Usually I write off foods if they don’t satisfy me but something so old and cherished over centuries deserves another try.  The lil one seemed to like it though.

2 thoughts on “Velvety Clouds?

    alilnibble said:
    October 9, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    I’ve been wondering what these are like as well…watching Michael Chiarello make them on FoodTV was pretty darn exciting!

    canihavesomemoremum responded:
    October 9, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    i guess we’ll have to buy em from the store to get a feel for what they’re really like

Leave a Reply

