Welcome Fall

Posted on Updated on

Everywhere you go, everything screams FALL IS HERE!  I didn’t think I’d be excited as I loved all Summer-ry foods.  But as soon as the first wind of fall came in, I was taken over by the cold spiced air.

Fall reminds me of light jackets, pumpkins, soups, and comfort food.  I’m not a fan of eating soups, because it’s kind of like grown-up baby food.  But I always want to make them for some reason.  I had read some good reviews on Julia Child’s Potato and Leek Soup and decided to give it a try.  It was superbly simple.  Chop, dump, and wait. 

Potato and Leek Soup (by Julia Child)

3-4 cups diced potatoes

3 cups thinly sliced leeks

2 quarts water

1 tbs salt

6 tbs heavy cream or 3 tbs butter

3 tbs minced chives or parsley

After chopping all your vegetables, add it to the water and salt in a 4 qt pot and simmer for 40-50 min partially cover.  Take off heat. You can mash the veges with a fork or run it through a food mill or hand blender.  Adjust salt and pepper to taste.  Stir in cream or butter and top with chives or parsley. And Serve!  Makes about 6-8 servings.

3 thoughts on “Welcome Fall

    alilnibble said:
    October 1, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    I’ve been reading up about soups and sauces in my commercial book today, and remembered the potato and leek soup. I had no idea there were so many technicalities behind soups…subhanAllah.

    Online Stock Trading said:
    October 16, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google. I have a blog on online stock trading, I’ll bookmark your site.

    Savannah said:
    October 17, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

