Cheesecake Experiment

Posted on Updated on

It’s been a week since we celebrated Eid, I can’t believe all of Ramadan has gone and went by right before my eyes.  It’s like any other exciting event in my life.  I’ll sit there for weeks waiting in anticipation and when it finally comes, I turn my head and everything just breezes right by in fast forward.  What was once anticipated become memories of the past.  I’m still waiting on someone to invent a remote control for Life…

P9200169

For Eid, our close family friends always get together in the evening for dinner.  And when I mean close, I mean around 60 people.  We take turns hosting the dinner and this time it was my place of residence.  Dessert and drinks were the only things left to take care of.  I decided to make my Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake which I hadn’t made in a reallly long time. 

My problem was, one pie wasn’t going to be enough for everyone, maybe not even two.  I played around with the idea for a while and I actually didn’t know what I was going to do until I had to pour the batter somewhere. 

What I finally decided was to make individual cheesecake in a muffin pan.  I just didn’t know if it would work the way I would want as I had to keep in mind several factors.  I made up things as I went and popped the tray into the oven after the whole dozen was layered and swirled and waited.  I didn’t have room for mess ups or screw ups.

I sat there in anticipation and just when cheesecake looked baked, I took them out and let them cool for a few minutes.  I carefully popped one out (SUCCESS!!)and put it in the fridge so I could taste it.  Once it became cold, I gave it a taste and it was absolutely scrumptious!  I was elated and happily went on completing 3 dozen. 

P9200167

Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake (by Great American Home Baking)

CrustOreo Dough recipe

Filling

3 packages (8 0z) cream cheese, at room temp (I used 2, 1/3 less fat cream cheese and 1 regular)

1 cup sugar

5 large eggs

2 oz semisweet chocolate, melted

 Prepare Oreo crust according to directions.  Preheat oven to 300 F.  Cream together the sugar and cream cheese.  Add in the eggs.  Take 1/3 of the batter and pour it into another bowl, mixing in the melted chocolate till uniform in color. 

Press the cookie dough into each slot, not too thin or thick.  Spoon in 1.5 tbs plain batter in each slot.  Add to each 1 tsp chocolate batter and swirl with a think knife.  Bake for about 15 min till the cheesecake is set.   Take out of the oven and cool for 2-3 min.  With a plastic knife, run the knife around each cheesecake and carefully pop out.  Refrigerate before serving. 

For drinks, my mum bought some Soda.  I was furious.  But apparently it doesn’t matter that I don’t drink soda, other people do and its totally okay to support these diabetic inducing foods.  I took what I had to work with.  And decided to serve some in my cool new flask that I had gotten from Garden Ridge. 

P9260181

In some Sprite, I mixed in some Grenadine Syrup, OJ, Cranberry Juice, and Lime, Raspberry, and Grape Popsicle.  I don’t have exact measurements since I just eyeballed everything.  Punches are great like that.

2 thoughts on “Cheesecake Experiment

    Sara Ali said:
    September 27, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    those look delicious!

    alilnibble said:
    September 27, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    Mmm..yummy pics!

Leave a Reply

