Bavrian Cream

Posted on Updated on

Bavarian Cream.  It just sounds like some exotic, gourmet food.  I had never heard of it until I saw Julie & Julia.  When I decided I’d make it, A Lil Nibble asked what it was.  I shrugged and just said we’ll see.  I knew it was some sort of custardy-ish dessert but didn’t know the exacts of it.  I just love the way ‘bavarian’ sounds.  But here is what MFAC says, “Bavarian cream is a mold of crème anglaise (custard sauce) with gelatin, beaten egg whites and flavoring. It is un-molded after it has been chilled, and makes a dessert as beautiful to see as it is to eat.”

There’s a lot of whipping involved.  But it’s not that complicated.  I just wish I knew when to use which size bowls so I could have had less of a mess. 

I made raspberry Bavarian cream (you can do different flavors) as they were on sale for 99 cents!  The recipe called for orange juice to bloom the gelatin in which I believed over-powered the raspberry flavor.  It had raspberry juice as an option but where do you get raspberry juice from??  Well I learned you can get raspberry juice from sieving raspberries.  Which was a total pain and took forever.  I took me a good 30 min to sieve the raspberries.  Next time I’m going to try to run the berries in my immersion blender and then sieve and hopefully the seeds won’t come through. 

I’m not sure if it came out to be 100% the way it was suppose to be, but there were two layers after it set.  It’s meant to be unmolded but I just put it in my dessert cups.  The bottom layer was like a jello consistency and the top was a light velvety cream texture.  I’m not sure if I’ll make this soon.  Maybe when I decide to give it another chance, not that it was bad, but it was just okay. 

Look out for this weekend: Beef Stroganoff, Plum Clafouti, Creamed Corn, and a special drink to cool you off. 

P9110113

Raspberry Bavarian Cream (from Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child)

1/2 cup orange juice (or raspberry juice)

1 1/2 tablespoons gelatin powder

5 egg yolks

1 cup granulated white sugar  

1 1/2 cups boiling milk

5 egg whites

pinch of salt

1 tablespoon granulated white sugar

a tray of ice cubes

1/2 cup chilled whipping cream

1 pint fresh raspberries (and extra for decoration)

In a bowl, mix together the gelatin and orange juice and set aside.  Bring milk to a boil.  While the milk is heating up, mix together the egg yolks with the one cup of sugar till pale yellow.  Slowly pour in the milk into the egg yolks while still mixing.  Make sure you don’t cook the eggs.  Transfer this mixture to a saucepan and cook till the mixture is thick enough to coat the spoon, while constantly stirring.  Take off heat. 

In another bowl, whip the sugar, salt, and egg whites together till stiff peaks.  Fold this into the custard mixture.  Set this over a bowl with ice water.  In another bowl, whip up the whipping cream till double in size.  Fold this into the custard. 

Sieve enough raspberries to make 3/4-1 cup.  Fold this into the mixture.  Pour into a mold or individual serving cups.  Chill for 3 hours or till its set.  Top with fresh raspberries. 

P9110116

One thought on “Bavrian Cream

    alilnibble said:
    September 11, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Eh..too much work. I rather make souffle or tiramisu to get the same rich, velvety result. Even a bowl of fresh whipped cream could work….

Leave a Reply

