Julie Powell

Posted on Updated on

Although I was going through a dry spell of cooking/baking, my mind hadn’t been.  I was excited when I received my copy of Julie and Julia, playing movie clips in my head.  I have  just finished all 359 pages of Julie’s book, walking through with her and her project of Mastering the Art of French Cooking.  I wasn’t much pleased with the book since the movie and book were quite different.  Movie-Julie seemed like a sweet good little girl, whereas Book-Julie had more spunk and dynamic in her character.  Her behavior didn’t much appeal to me but as I kept reading on, she started to relate to me in ways I didn’t know she could. 

Maybe it’s the similar feelings that ensue while preparing food that tied the knot.  Or the fact she was able to accomplish something and didn’t make it look like it was a cinch, skipping over all the hard-work-parts.   I got to live through her journey of ups and downs, all the way to the finish line. 

In one of the chapters, Julie muses on about how cooking isn’t just cooking, but so much more than that.  I can’t explain it as well as she did, but I can’t seem to understand why people don’t cook more often.  Or why people seem to detest the whole concept? 

With all these thoughts running through my bones yesterday evening, and the fact I wasn’t having the greatest week, I took to baking for a little escape and enjoyment. “CHEESECAKE BROWNIES!” screamed in my head for some reason and I got to searching for a simple recipe that wouldn’t make me jump over the moon.  (Talking about simple, Julie makes an excellent point when she says “The thing you learn with Portage Parmentier is that ‘simple’ is not exactly the same as ‘easy’.” which after some thought is very true.)

I found all my ingredients at home, thankful for not having to run to the store and being able to use up all my unsweetened chocolate that had been sitting there since my last brownie escapade. 

The product of melting the chocolate and butter, which I’ve never done before, was so amazingly scrumptious that I was intoxicated by the smell that wafted from it.  The whole brownie making was divine and so utterly simple. 

Out came the cream cheese which was ready to be mixed in with the egg and sugar.  It looked a little funny but after checking the expiration date, Feb 2010 I added it in.  I popped the mixture into the oven and ran for a quick shower in which I prayed I wouldn’t burn the house down.  I checked the time when I got out, realizing it wasn’t such a quick shower, sprinting back down beating myself up for burning such a wonderful concoction. 

Opening the oven door, the cream cheese layer look too undercooked for having been in the oven for 30 min.  The brownie layer was done so I opted to turn on the broiler for a just a little bit, promising myself I wouldn’t burn it like I burned my banana bread by using the same method.  I open my oven door again to find brown splotches on the cream cheese layer.  Great, great, great. 

After the brownies cooled, I was highly disappointed upon tasting it.  I taste-tested a few more times later that night to see if they tasted good then.  And they still weren’t.  I should of just had the melted butter-chocolate-sugar mixture instead.  I won’t even post the recipe or any pics for this one.  I am determined though to make something delicious so I’m off to my TWD.

4 thoughts on “Julie Powell

    Hadiya said:
    September 4, 2009 at 12:54 am

    aww dude im sorry to hear about your brownies. i kept telling myself to finish reading before immediately scrolling down for the recipes and pictures…talk about irony!

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      September 5, 2009 at 6:38 pm

      lol i sometimes do that on other blogger sites, but its interesting what others have to say. sometimes people will have tips and other cool facts.

    alilnibble said:
    September 5, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    Ya know, I think the best way to make cheesecake brownies is to make whatever brownie batter you prefer, then mix in cream cheese with a few spoonfuls of it and marble it over the top.

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      September 5, 2009 at 6:39 pm

      ya i think my cream cheese was jus weird/bad but according to my taste testers, they gave me a thumbs up 🙂

Leave a Reply

