Alton Brown

Posted on Updated on

GoodEats

Back when I was taking Food Science Lab, when I hadn’t learned to appreciate this science, we started each lab with a video of Alton Brown  (Good Eats) that related to our lab.  Watching Brown, he would always explain the science and concept behind the methods that were being used.  You’d get a history, science, and a cooking lesson all in one.  I wish I had payed more attention back then.  Anyhow, I remember in one episode that we watched, he showed how to make chocolate chip cookies and had altered the same base recipe to make soft cookies, chewy cookies, and a cookie with a harder crumb.  I came upon his chewy cookie recipe couple days ago and decided to give it a try.  The flour that it called for was bread flour but I didn’t have any so I used AP flour.  The cookies came out incredibly soft, even after being long out of the oven.  They were no where close to being chewy, but maybe that was because I didn’t use bread flour.  If you want super soft cookies, make sure to try this recipe out! 

Alton Brown’s Chewy Cookies (from here)

2 sticks unsalted butter (I used 1.5 sticks + 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce)

2 1/4 cups bread flour (I used AP Flour)

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup sugar

1 1/4 cups brown sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

2 tablespoons milk

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Melt the butter either in a saucepan or in the microwave.  In a large bowl, add the butter and the sugars and mix until light and fluffy.  Add in the egg, egg yolk, and milk.  Stir in all of the dry ingredients.  Once the a batter has formed, fold in the chocolate chips.  Chill for about 30 min.  Scoop about a tablespoon of batter and place on to a cookie sheet.  Bake for about 7-10 min.  Serve with a large glass of milk!

I came across these amazing crackers the other day, Carr’s Table Water Crackers.  They’re from Britain so they’re aCarr's-Table-Water-Crackersctually called biscuits.  All it has in it is flour, oil, salt, and pepper.  These would be amazing a thin slice of cheese, I just haven’t gotten a chance to go get some.  I was amazed to find these and how they didn’t have a long paragraph of ingredients.  Definitely a good light snack. 

Look out for my Crinkle Cookies and Red Velvet Cake that I will be making next week!

Leave a Reply

