Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Posted on Updated on

So if I have talked about this before please forgive me.  I LOVE chocolate chip cookies.  Theyre probably the most frequent thing that I do make and I could just about eat them everyday if it didn’t add inches.  I have more of an attachment to them when I’m sick.  Few years ago, I got reallllly sick one night and my friend felt such pity for me and the what a mess I was that she went and brought me chocolate chip cookies.  I sat in bed eating nothing but these cookies and ever since then, whenever I get sick, I must have chocolate chip cookies.  Yeah, it’s weird I know.

I use to buy them from the local grocery store but ever since I spoiled myself from homemade ones, the store ones don’t taste as yummy anymore.  I’ll stand around and stare at them in the bakery aisle but just end up deciding to make them at home instead.  My NY Times recipe makes so many and the other day I found a recipe that makes about 20 (which is still quite a lot but less than NYT)  I got home tonight and was craving some cookies so I immediately put out the butter so it could reach room temperature.  After dinner, I got to baking and it took me very little time to make these goodies.  I used semi-sweet chips since I was trying to get rid of them but I really prefer milk chocolate for these.

Quick Chocolate Chip Cookies (from here)

1/2 c. granulated sugar
1/2 c. firmly packed light brown sugar
8 T. (1 stick) unsalted butter, cold, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 large egg
1 t. vanilla
1/2 t. baking soda
1 1/4 c. flour
1/4 t. salt
1 1/2 dark chocolate chips (I use Whole Foods brand, 70%.)

Adjust the oven rack to the top third of the oven and preheat to 300F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Beat the sugars and the butter together until smooth. Mix in the egg, vanilla, and baking soda.

Stir together the flour and salt, then mix them into the batter. Mix in the chocolate chips (and walnuts, if using.)

Scoop the cookie dough by rounded tablespoon into balls, and space them several inches apart on the baking sheets. (The dough will spread in the oven)

Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until pale golden brown. The cookies will be pretty soft when you remove them from the oven, but will cool to a pleasant firm-but-still-chewy consistency.

As I mentioned in my last post, I did make Monkey Bread for the potluck that I went to.  When I got done making it, I was afraid that it didn’t come out right because it wasn’t as caramelized as the ones from the pictures.  My top was sort of dry but I took it anyways, praying it would be okay. Everyone was wondering what in the world is monkey bread.  Someone suggested it was bread made out of monkeys fresh from the Amazon! but I told them they had to wait until dessert was served.  When it came to dessert time, I heated up the oven to 250 F and put the monkey bread in for 5 min to help loosen it out of the pan.  With some help, I flipped it over and it looked AMAZING.  <pics soon to be posted>  The whole thing was eaten up so quickly I was amazed.  It was so easy and fun to make.  Glad to have introduced a new dessert 🙂

Recipe can be found here.

I also made blueberry cobbler that morning and it’s another very EASY dessert.  I quickly made it that morning and left the house.  When I came back in the evening more than half had disappeared.  I’m guessing the cobbler monster had gotten to it. :O

I got this recipe from allrecipes.com which I was addicted to pre-foodgawker.  It’s so simple but so good.

(ok i just had way too many cookies while writing up this post. :x)

oh and check out this trailer!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies!

    amira said:
    June 1, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    you, sieda, and aisha will be the death of my waistline

    amira said:
    June 1, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    i could use some fresh cookies right now…or a smoothie, like a coconut smoothie.
    wow.
    yes.
    some cookies, like two or three,maybe even four……then a coconut smoothie.

    fatboywholoveschocolateindisguise said:
    June 2, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Thank you Amira, I take pride in what I do. =)

    I made these…theyre a nice combination of crispy, chewy, and chocolatey. I’m sure they’ll be very different if you let the dough rest…no guarantees that it’ll get there with the dough monster [ahem] in my house.

Leave a Reply

