Berry Good

Posted on Updated on

Monday morning I was kidnapped.  8:30 am two of my girlfriends kicked me out of bed and told me to get dressed to go to some mystery place.  Now 8:30 isn’t too early for me but it was just that I had slept late the night before and planned on sleeping in late.  I pulled the covers over my head hoping they’d disappear but unfortunately that didn’t work.  I made little conversation on the way there as I was still half sleepy and was trying to get over being pulled out of bed.  We ended up on the outskirts of the city, to towns with population 1,111 or 146 and I LOVE small towns.   Their city hall was maybe the size of an average one story house, maybe smaller.

We made it to Destination X an hour and a half later.  We were visiting a farm to pick fruits and veges!  I had been wanting to go picking for quite some time and was amazed that they remembered.  The orchard has strawberries, blueberries, and zucchini in season.  What’s more fun than summer berry picking!  We spent the next two hours plucking succulent berries from their stems to fill our bushels under the warm summer sun.  We were also accompanied by friendly grasshoppers that hopped along with us.

The strawberries were soooo small.  Probably not pumped with hormones to make them giant sized like the ones that you find at the grocery store.  We made our way up and down the field until we were satisfied.  As we went to check out, we also got some flavored honey sticks (mine didn’t even last me a day!) that were absolutely scrumptious.  The trip was amazing and I will be definitely be going back.  A great outdoorsy thing that you can enjoy with anyone.

So with all the fresh produce I had, today I made some traditional blueberry muffins.  I thought about making pie, but my tummy was rumbling for some muffins.

Now the original recipe calls for 1 stick of butter but at times I like to reduce the fat content and use a 1:1 butter to apple sauce.  So here instead of 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, I used 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter and 1/4 cup apple sauce.   Butter imparts flavor so you’ll be sacrificing that, but most of the time, I can never tell the difference.

P5210520

Blueberry Muffins (adapted from here)

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups fresh blueberries (you can use frozen, just make sure that you dry them as best you can)

1/2 stick (4 tablespoons) butter, room temperature

1/4 cup apple sauce

1 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1/2 cup milk

Preheat your oven to 375 F.  Line a muffin pan with muffin cups.  In a small bowl, toss blueberries with 1 tbs flour.  This helps keep the blueberries from sinking to the bottom of the muffin.  In another bowl, whip your sugar, applesauce, and butter for 3 min.  Add in your egg, one at a time, mixing thoroughly.  Fold in the flour, salt, and baking powder, mixing only until incorporated.  Mix in milk. Don’t over mix.  Fold in berries.  Carefully divide batter into individual muffin cups and set to bake for 25-30 min.  Remove from pan and let cool (I like to enjoy them nice and warm)

P5210510

I got some zucchini as well and will be makin zucchini bread tomorrow.  I know that just sounds weird but I’ve heard raving reviews and I have to test it out myself to believe it.

Nutrition Facts

 

16 Servings 

Amount Per Serving
Calories 134.8
Total Fat 1.6 g
  Saturated Fat 0.7 g
  Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g
  Monounsaturated Fat 0.5 g
Cholesterol 28.7 mg
Sodium 131.7 mg
Potassium 55.0 mg
Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
  Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
  Sugars 12.7 g
Protein 2.8 g
3 thoughts on “Berry Good

    arshia said:
    May 22, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    those look really good mashallah! i wanna try this. how many does it make?

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      May 22, 2009 at 5:16 pm

      18

    Hadiya said:
    May 28, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    we went cherry picking this past weekend! isnt it soo much fun? we came home with 8 lbs of cherries. last year we went strawberry picking in houston…it was soo much fun. i thought berries were out of season for houston?

Leave a Reply

