Long Post

Posted on

This post contains multiple recipes, therefore will be really long.  I didn’t have enough time to post so I’m combining them.  I lack some pictures as of right now as well.

I made some brownies two weeks ago Dorie’s recipe and boy does she have a variety of brownie recipes.  The one I started off with was the classic brownie which called for bittersweet and unsweetened chocolate.  Bittersweet is 60% cacao and unsweetened is 100%.  I’m addicted to the Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips but when I bit into the unsweetened bar for a taste….let’s just say I won’t be doing that again.  The brownies were a lot richer than the boxed due to the higher content of cacao in the chocolate but thy were still was very good.  They weren’t chewy but moist.  I prefer the chewy kind.

P4280270

Classic Brownies

5 tbs butter

4 oz bittersweet chocolate chips (or coarsely chopped)

2 oz unsweetened chocolate (coarsely chopped)

3/4 white sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp instant espresso powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup AP flour

Preheat oven to 325 F.  Grease 8 in baking pan.  In a double boiler, melt the butter and chocolate till smooth.  Taking off the boiler, add in sugar.  Whisk in eggs one by one.  Add in vanilla and espresso.  Fold in salt and flour.  Pour into pan and bake for 30-35 min until a toothpick comes out clean.

I also decided to try a different chocolate chip cookies recipe and wanted to use Dorie’s.  I’m not sure I like them as my NY Times one but they were pretty pleasant.  I think I will stick with NY Times though.

P5040371

Dorie Greenspan’s “My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies”

2 cups AP Flour

1 tsp salt

3/4 tsp baking soda

2 sticks of unsalted butter

1 cups white sugar

2/3 cups brown sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 large eggs

12 oz bittersweet chocolate chips (I used a combination of milk, semi and bittersweet)

P5040366

Preheat oven to 375 F.  Whip butter with a mixer for 1 minute.  Add in sugars for 2 minutes.  Proceed to add in the vanilla and the eggs, adding in one at a time until well mixed.  Using a lower speed or a spatula, add all dry ingredients in 3 portions, mixing only until incorporated.  Mix in chocolate chips.  Spoon the dough onto a baking sheet and bake for about 10-12 minutes or until lightly golden brown.  Allow to rest for 1 minute and transfer them to a cooling rack.

Ever since I had Salmon and Pea Risotto in a little Italian cafe in Hartford, I’ve been in love with risotto.  It was creamy, delicious, totally comfort food!  They served me such a huge plate I took some back and ate it for breakfast the next morning.  Ever since, it was on my mental list of things I been wanting to try to make but somehow I always manage to make something else.  Finally, I got myself to make some and boy was it a hit!  I was so sad when it was all gone because I was craving some more but I got to enjoy it with a visitor that I had over for lunch as well as two young-uns.  Risotto is very versatile and you can use almost anything in it to your like.

P5070426

Seafood Risotto

1 1/2 cup Arborio rice

1/2 cup onions, thinly sliced

1 tsp minced garlic

1/2 cup shittake mushrooms (any mushroom will do), roughly chopped

4 cups stock (chicken or vegetable)

1 cup milk

1 cup peas

1 oz parmasean cheese shredded

1/2 lb baby scallops

1/2 lb shrimp (deheaded and deviened)

crushed black pepper to taste

In a non-stick pot, sautee your onions and garlic in EVOO until translucent.  Add in the mushrooms and cook for 1 minute.  Do not wash rice and put it in directly into the pot and cook till slightly brown.  While doing this, heat up 2 cups of stock with 1/2 cup peas.  Once the peas have defrosted, with an immersion blender puree the peas.  Add the remaining 2 cups of stock to the stock pot.  Next, add the stock to the rice in 1/2 cup increments as the rice absorbs the stock.  Add remaining peas.  Meanwhile stirring the rice, season your shrimp and scallops with salt and pepper.  With some EVOO in a pan, cook the shrimp and scallops till the shrimp are slightly pink and scallops a pale yellow.  Set aside.  Warm up the milk once your near end of your stock.  The rice will begin to plump up and get creamy.  (If you don’t have milk on hand, substitute for more stock.  Also whenever adding liquid to the risotto, it must be warmed so not to “shock” the rice)  Add in the milk in two portions.  This is the point where the rice is nearly done and you should add in your seafood, cheese and black pepper.  The end product should be soft creamy rice.  I would leave it slightly “wet” meaning all of the remaining liquid shouldn’t be cooked out or else the rice will get dry and too thick to eat.

P5070417P5070418

Again, you can use whatever you have on hand for this dish.  Once you get the technique down, you can use any seasoning, ingrediants, skys the limit!

P5070423

My friend was craving some lemon poppy seed muffins/cake and I love lemony cake.  Unfortunately lemon poppy seed muffins aren’t as lemony as I’d hope them to be but they were still delicious.  It was less of a dessert and more of a nice snack. I actually didn’t have any sour cream on me but I learned that you can easily substitute it with 1 cup yogurt + 1 tsp baking soda.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins (By Dorie Greenspan)

2/3 cup sugar

grated zest and juice of one lemon

2 cup AP flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup sour cream

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 stick butter (melted)

2 tbs black poppy seeds

Preheat oven to 400 F and line your muffin tray with paper muffin cups.  In a large bowl, rub the sugar with the lemon zest with your fingers.  Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In another bowl, combine sour cream, lemon juice, vanilla, butter and pour over the dry ingredients.  Mix only until incorporated.  Stir in the poppy seeds and fill the paper cups half way.  Bake for 18-20 min until lightly golden.

I made some pizza last night as well but I will save that for tomorrow.  I think this is good for one night.  🙂

Leave a Reply

