TWD

Posted on

When I started getting into the blogesphere of food, I kept seeing “TWD” and wondered what and why these three letters were so famous.  I finally ended up searching and reading about them and came to know it was Tuesday’s With Dorie, a blog dedicated to Dorie Greenspan.  People who belong to this blog do one recipe out of Dorie’s book and they must post their happenings every Tuesday.  Although I haven’t joined this group, I did buy her book which has been sitting under my bed ever since I made one of her cakes which took me about four hours since I made the cake, frosting and filling all from scratch, including time for decorating the cake.  

I decided to put the book to use and made Linzer Sables, one of the prettiest cookies I’ve seen around.  They look complicated but are very simple.  I love how Dorie “talks” to you in her book like shes right there.  Will be defenetly keeping this book out from under the bed.  

Linzer Sables (by Dorie Greenspan)

1.5 cups finely ground almonds (I ran my almonds through a coffee grinder)

1.5 cups all-purpose flour

1.5 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1 large egg

2 tsp water

1 stick (8 tbs) butter (room temp)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup jam of your choice (I used my homemade jam!)

Whip the butter and sugar together for three min until light and fluffy.  Add the egg and beat for 1 min.  Fold in dry ingrediants with a spatula.  If you want, you can use your hands.  

Divide the dough in half and make a ball out of it.  Using two sheets of wax paper for each ball, put the ball inbetween and press it out into a disk.  With a rolling pin, roll out the dough till its 1/4 in thick.  Place it in the freezer on  a baking sheet for 45 min or 2 hrs in the fridge.  cimg1550

When you get ready to bake, preheat your oven to 375 and line your baking sheet with parchment paper.  With the dough, peel off the top layer of wax paper and using a cookie cutter, cut out your cookies.  (I don’t have circle cutters so I used a shot glass).  Combine the scraps, roll and cut out more cookies.  If you want a peekaboo cut out, use the bottom of piping tips to cut out the center of the cookies.  

cimg1553

Bake the cookies for11-13 min until they are firm to the touch.  Transfer to a cooling rack and repeat process with your second dough disk.  

cimg1548

Once the cookies are cooled, mix the jam and water in a little sauce pan and heat to a low simmer.  Spoon enough jam onto one side of the cookie, about 1/2 tsp.  Place the peekaboo cookie on top.  Once you have sandwiched all your cookies, dust some powdered sugar on top and enjoy!

cimg1554

 

cimg1559

One thought on “TWD

    Amanda said:
    April 25, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Beautiful! I’m with TWD and I’ve only had two recipe failures since starting with the group in October. This was one of them! LOL Glad they worked out for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

