Lemon Bars

Posted on

So I made Lemon Bars a couple days ago but just haven’t had the time to post them.  I wasn’t really impressed with them becuase I’ve had better elsewhere.  I think the problem was that there wasn’t enough of the lemon layer.  I added some strawberry jam to some of them because I love the strawberry-lemon combo.  I actually don’t have any pics of the final product because I decided I would take the last one when I get back home and when I did, they were all gone!  I don’t think I’ll use this recipe again just because I’m looking for something else but they are a good treat.  

Lemon Bars (adapted from HoneyandJam.blogspot.com)

1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 eggs
2/3 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
1  teaspoons grated lemon zest
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon confectioners’ sugar

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, 1/2 cup of confectioners’ sugar, and butter until butter is in very small crumbs.  This will eventually turn in to a dough but you just have to keep mixing and kneeding it. cimg1397
Press into the bottom of a 11×7 inch pan.

Bake for 25 minutes or until firm and lightly browned. While the crust is baking, whisk together the eggs, 2/3 cup of confectioners’ sugar, lemon juice and lemon zest in a medium bowl. Just before the crust is done, stir in the baking powder. Pour over the crust while it is hot, and return to the oven.  This is important, don’t wait till the crust has cooled. It needs to be still hot when adding in the lemon mixture.  

lemon mixture
lemon mixture

 

 

Baked Crust
Baked Crust

Bake for another 25 minutes in the preheated oven, until set. Dust with remaining confectioners’ sugar when cool.

Leave a Reply

