Meet Fred

Posted on Updated on

Just got done making dinner for tonight.  I’m not too pleased with it because usually my curry has this umph! of a flavor and I can’t seem to get it this time.  Can’t figure out what I’m missing.  I made some rice with the curry that is called Kichri.  I’m not sure if there’s an English term for it.  It’s an easy light dish.  It took me about an hour from start to finish, including cleaning up.

Curry

16 oz plain yogurt (half a reg box of yogurt)

4 tbs chana ataa (gram flour)

1 tsp garlic

1/4 tsp ginger

1 cup water

2 peppers

1 tsp red pepper

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/2 lemon

1 tsp ground corainder & cumin

1 tomato divided

1/2 onion

1 stalk curry leaves (about 8-10 leaves)

handful of cilantro

Start by thinly slicing your onions.  Heat up some oil in a pot and add in the onions and the curry leaves.  p4140117While the onions are caramelizing, take out a blender and add in yogurt, peppers, chana ataa (gram flour), water, garlic, ginger, red pepper, turmeric, salt, cumin, coriander, 1/2 tomato, and squeeze in the lemon juice.  Here is my lemon squeezer.  I call him Fred.  He’s from Boston.  p4140122Blend all this in the blender.  Once the onions have browned, add in this mixture into the pot.  Let it cook for about 5 min and add in about 1 cup of water.  Chop up the remaining tomato and add it in.  Let this cook for another 10 min until it is a bright yellow color.  You can thin out the curry to your desired consistency by adding in water.  Once you’re done, roughly chop up the cilantro and sprinkle it over the top.

I tried getting a good picture of the color of the curry but I guess I’m having lighting issues.  p4140126And now for the rice.

Kichri

1 cup long grain white rice

1/4 cup light green split lentil (need to figure out the name of it )

1/4 onion

2.5 cups water

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/2 tomato

1/2 long big green pepper

whole black pepper, cardamom, cloves, and bay leaf

Thinly slice onions and carmelize them in a pot with oil.  Add in whole black pepper, cardamom, cloves, 3-4 each.  Add in one bay leaf.  Wash the rice and the lentil and soak in water until the onions have browned.  Add in the 2.5 cups water to the pot quickly so the oil doens’t splatter.  Drain the rice + lentil and add it to the pot.  Roughly chop the tomato and add it in along with the salt, turmeric, green pepper.  Cook till rice is tender.  p4140127I don’t remeber if I mentioned this in a previous post, but I use red onions instead of yellow.  You can use either but I just prefer its taste over the yellow.  And it gives the dish more color.

I’m trying to figure out what to make for Thursday for dinner.  If you have any ideas send them this way but they have to be pakistani/indian for the fam.  Time for a run.

One thought on “Meet Fred

    photographer said:
    April 15, 2009 at 3:46 am

    i see u have attempted my skilled photography by trying to add angels in your images..good try! 😛

Leave a Reply

