Jamming It Up

Posted on Updated on

p4130500

It seems like its been awhile since I last posted.  I made a few things here and there that I failed to post about.  But I make them pretty regularly so they’ll be soon posted once I make them again.  I went to Wel-Farm the other day and got a little too fruit happy and ended up spending twice as much as  I usually do.  If you haven’t ever tried Red Pears, you’re missing out.  I like them best out of the pear family although I have some different varities yet to try.

I also came home with a 4-5lb box of strawberries and 3 boxes of blueberries that were on sale.  My mum looked at me horrified, asking what I was going to do with so many berries.  Jam! ofcourse.  I’ve been wanting to try making jam for sooo long but I never got the courage to do so because you have to know how to can it properly for it to last a long time.  I’ve searched online multiple times but never really understood the method.  I guess I need to watch Alton Brown’s episode on jam making.  I got some Mason Jars and read the directions for canning on the box as well but it didn’t help.  I decided to just go for it and learn from my mistakes.  I made two differents jams, one with strawberries only and the other with a mix of strawberries and blueberries.  The first batch, I added 3 cups of sugar as per the recipe I was following.  It turned out to be wayyy too sweet as the strawberries are very sweet by themselves.  The second batch I only added in a cup of sugar and it was still a little too sweet but not too bad. I guess next time I’ll add in the sugar depending on how sweet the berries already are.

Directions for both recipes are the same.

Strawberry Jam

4 cups strawberries (hulled and sliced)

3 tbs fresh lemon juice

1-3 cups sugar (depending upon how sweet you want it)

StrawBlue Jam

2 cups stawberries (hulled and sliced)

2 cups blueberries

3 tbs lemon juice

1-3 cups sugar

Jar, lid, and ring
Jar, lid, and ring

Wash mason jars, lid and ring with soap and water.  In a large stock pot, steralize the jar and lid in hot water over the stove.

p4130495

p41305031
StrawBlue

Put a suacer in the freezer.  Place fruit in a pot and heat on low-medium heat until it releases water.  Mash with a fork if desired.  Add in sugar and lemon and stir till dissolved.  Let the mixture boil and bubble, stirring occasionally.  As the mixture thickens, test to see if the jam is done by placing a little bit on the saucer and putting it back into the freezer.  Leave it in for about 2 min and see if the jam is wrinkly or has jamm-ed up.  If it hasn’t, continue cooking.  If it has, ladle the jam into the jar.  Carefully place lid on and screw on the ring.  Wait 24hrs before opening.

Strawberries
Strawberries

Now I’m not sure about getting the whole sealing thing correct but I will have to wait till tomorrow.  I can’t wait.  It tastes sooo yummy.

p4130512

Now what to do with 3 jars of jam.  Any ideas? lol

6 thoughts on “Jamming It Up

    Taha said:
    April 13, 2009 at 2:05 am

    MAKE CHEESECAKE!!! 🙂

      amnah said:
      April 14, 2009 at 1:09 am

      i agree! i want some..hehe

    sieda said:
    April 13, 2009 at 2:29 am

    give some to me! mmmm 😛

    arshia said:
    April 14, 2009 at 2:48 am

    oh dude, that looks good.

    btw, i made the kidney bean stuff. turned out really good, alhamdulillah. jazakallah khair! i love your blog. 🙂

    Hadiya said:
    May 5, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    how do you hull your strawberries? is read about this one trick where you can put a straw through the center to get rid of it but that doesnt seem to work for me…

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      May 6, 2009 at 3:33 am

      well i dont have a solid trick but i usually cut off the tops of the strawberries. i sometimes take a knife and cut around the stem so its hulling a strawberry by knife but ive always been use to cutting off the tops. you can also get strawberry hullers @ target, wal-mart, or bed bath & beyond

Leave a Reply

