Spinach!

Posted on

I only had a very short time to cook dinner yesterday and I decided to make some Palak Paneer (Spinach and Ricotta Cheese).  I’ve made it both the fresh way and the shortcut way which is the way I had to resort to yesterday.  I know people who don’t like spinach love this dish and I wish I had made more yesterday because now it’s all gone.

Palak Paneer (Fresh)

3 bunches of spinach

1/2 pint of whipping cream

1/2 red onion (you can use yellow too)

1 tsp salt

pinch of turmeric

1/2 tsp red pepper

1/2 tsp paprika

1/8 tsp cumin

1/8 tsp corainder

Fresh Paneer

1 gallon milk

1 quart buttermilk

For the Paneer, start by boiling the milk starting off on slow heat.  Make sure you don’t start off on high heat because the milk will burn.  Once the milk comes to a boil, pour in the buttermilk.  Once the milk separates into curds and whey, place a cheesecloth in a strainer and pour in the mixture.  Tie the cheesecloth somewhere to let it hang to let the whey drip out.  I usually do it on my sink faucet.  Strain for a couple hours.  After this is done, run it through the food processor to make it smooth.  Knead it out and roll it so it is 1 cm thick and cut into square pieces.  Fry this cheese in a pan until it is lightly golden brown.  Reserve to use in dish.

De-stem all the spinach and put it in a huge pot of water and rinse out all the dirt.  It might take a few fills of the pot to thoroughly get all the dirt out.  Thinly slice the onion and caramelize in a pot.  Add in all the spinach and let it cook till all the spinach is wilted.  Add in the cream and then all in your spices.  Once all this is combined, add in the paneer and cook until the spinach is thoroughly cooked.  Serve with bread or rice

Easier Palak Paneer

1 10 oz cut leaf frozen spinach

1/2 pint whipping cream

1 package of frozen  paneer

1/2 red onion (you can use yellow too)

1 tsp salt

pinch of turmeric

1/2 tsp red pepper

1/2 tsp paprika

1/8 tsp cumin

1/8 tsp corainder

Thinly slice your onion and caramelize.  Add in the spinach and cook until it is no longer frozen.  Add in the cream and spices.  Put in the paneer and cook till it is defrosted.

Tomorrow I have a full day in the kitchen.  Aunt is leaving so I’m sending Caradamon Cookies/Khatai Cookies and Apple Pie for my uncle.  I’m also making my dough for my choclate chip cookies since I’ll be at a friends place for the weekend and promised her some of mychocolate cookies.  Can’t wait!

2 thoughts on “Spinach!

    matt said:
    April 2, 2009 at 1:28 am

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

    fatboywholoveschocolateindisguise said:
    April 2, 2009 at 4:46 am

    Yay for the ending of these horrid anti-sucrose 14 days! Call me if you need a taster for the pies. 😉

Leave a Reply

