Day 6 & 7

Posted on Updated on

It’s been raining cats and dogs for the past couple days.  I’ve been driving my dads car because my car was out of fuel and I just didn’t have time to fill up.  Today I forced myself to make time and fill up.  It started raining again and it was super sunny outside too but no rainbow.  I flipped on my wipers and automatically turned them off because I was use to my old sucky wipers.  I didn’t hear a dreaded noise and was like oh, I’ve got new ones!  I happily turned them back on and let them do their thing, peacefully wiping away.  (I get so happy over these little things.  It was the highlight of my day.)

I got some leeks today from Whole Foods but I still have yet to figure out how and where to use them.  And I’m almost done with my kale.  I can’t wait to finish it and start experimenting with other vegetables.  I was trying to figure out next weeks menu in my head and obviously eating what I had this past week would be the easy way out but boring.  I thought I was plum out of ideas but as I was walking through Whole Foods, I was reminded that there’s so much that I haven’t tried so that leaves a lot of room of messing around in the kitchen.  I stood in front of the bins today at Whole Foods and wrote down all the different kind of beans and grains they have so I can look them up.  Ever heard of wheat berries?  So not your typical berry.

I made poached eggs yesterday morning and it was quite easy.  It was kind of like a soft boiled egg but so much faster.  I had it where my yolks were running but next time I’ll cook one egg longer to see what it’ll be like.  I also made kidney beans and ate it with some brown rice.

Poached Eggs

Fill a pot of water 3 inches of water and set it to boil.  Crack your egg in a shallow bowl.  Once the water comes to a boil, reduce it to a soft simmer.  Carefully slip the egg outof the bowl and into the water.  You can cook the egg 2 minutes for runny whites and yolk, 4 min for runny yolk, 6 min for a full cooked egg.  Once you are done, get a slotted spoon and place your egg on a paper towel to absorb the water.  Let it rest for 2 minutes and season it with salt and pepper.

Traditionally poached eggs are eaten by placing it ontop of an english muffin and topped with hollindaise sauce.

Savory Red Beans

1 can Kidney Beans

1/2 onion

1 tomato

1/2 tsp salt

curry leaves

1/2 tsp red pepper

1/2 tsp paprika

1/4 turmeric

1/2 coriander

1/2 cumin

1 lemon

Chop the onion thinly and sautee it in oil in a pot for a couple of mintues, don’t brown the onions.  Chop the tomatoes and add in with curry leaves.  Add all spices in, salt, paprika, turmeric, red pepper, corainder, cumin.  Mix it well.  Add in some water, 1/4 cup and the kidney beans.  Squeeze in the lemon.  Easy savory dish!

2 thoughts on “Day 6 & 7

    reemcha said:
    March 28, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    i looove leeks!! basically you can use it any way you use an onion. i made some potato leek soup the other day! delicious mashAllah!

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      March 29, 2009 at 12:43 am

      oo cool you mind emailing over the recipe

Leave a Reply

