Day 4 & 5

Posted on Updated on

I’m so excited I’m almost half way to my goal!  Going without sugar is really not that bad of a horror story.  I think I had some cravings the day before but I was easily able to battle it by produce shopping. I got strawberries, bananas, french prunes, a huge pomelo, longans, apples, and mangoes.  Now for those of you who don’t know what a pomelo  is, it is very similar to grapefruit but is less tart and there’s a huge spongy later between the outside skin and the inside fruit.  Ripe pomelos are generally yellow, but this picture shows green pomelos.  pomeloThe pomelo I got this time isn’t as sweet as my last pomelo, probably because it wasn’t fully ripened.  Now a longan is very similar to lychee.  It literally means dragon eyes in Cantonese because when you peel the outer layer to get to the fruit, there’s a translucent layer with a black seed in the middle which resembles an eye ball.  I don’t like lychee but I decided to give longans a chance but they failed me.  They had this funny sweetness to them.  I brought them to work for everyone to try out and my c0-worker happily ate them all for me.

longan_b

I’m getting a better handle on this oatmeal thing.  I still need to measure out exactly how much water I need to make it cook properly without me checking on it constantly.  On a better note, I made some rocking Split Pea Soup today.  The sister ate three bowls without me.  Oh ya, blame her for no pics because she’s too lazy to find her camera for me.  I’m try to remember everything I put in it.  It was realllllly easy and will be a quick go to for me when I’m busy.

Split Pea Soup

1 cup split peas

3 tbs oil

3 tbs barley flour (you can use regular flour)

1/2 onion

3 mushrooms chopped

1/2 cup carrots chopped

2 stalks of celery chopped

3 springs wakame

1 zuchinni chopped

6 cups water

3 pieces of roasted chicken + drippings (I used the chicken left over from my luncheon)

3 springs of fresh thyme

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp paprika

Heat oil in a pot and thinly slice up your onions.  Sautee them in the oil.  Add in chopped mushrooms, celery, and carrots.  Stir in flour.  If it starts to burn, add a little water in to make a paste.  Add zucchini and let it cook for a couple of minutes.  Then add in the water, wakame, split peas, chicken and drippings, salt, paprika, thyme.  Let it cook until the peas become mushy and blend in to the soup, forming a thick soup.

Enjoy with crackers or toasted bread.  I ate it without that and it was scrumptious.  Perfect for cold nights.

Leave a Reply

