Spring Fling

Posted on Updated on

So I had a few girlfriends over for lunch since we’re on spring break.  I was a little hesitant on how everything would turn out but in the end it all came together.  I think my pie was a big hit….I think someone ate half of one.  Here is what was on the menu:

Sun-Dried Tomatoe Dip with fresh veggies

Rosemary Thyme Roasted Chicken

Brown and Wild rice

Lime Kale with Beans and Dill

Punch

Apple Pie

Sun-Dried Tomato Dip

Although the dip is pretty fatty it had veges to off set it.  I had a rough time chopping the tomatoes by hand so I ended up throwing them in the food processor which made it a lot easier.  http://culinarycory.com/2009/02/09/sun-dried-tomato-dip/p3170127

Rosemary Thyme Roasted Chicken

I’ve decided brining birds is absolutely the best way to go.  I don’t see how anyone can go without doing this crucial step.  I had about 15 legs and thighs in which I rubbed salt, pepper, rosemary, and thyme and let it sit in the fridge for about two hours.  I later rinsed all the pieces so they wouldn’t turn out salty.  I mixed melted butter with the herbs and marinated the chicken.  Put it in the oven at 400 for 15 min uncovered and then at 350 for about 30-45 min with foil.  Result: Juicey tasty chicken with tons of drippings for gravy.

Before:  p3160117And After:

p3170130

Brown and Wild Rice

The rice was fairly easy.  I sauteed 1 red onions with butter.  Once those were tender I added in about 1/2 a cup of carrots, 1/2 cup golden raisans, and 3 cups of a mix of brown and wild rice.  Cooked that a minute or two and poured in 6 cups of chicken broth with 1 1/4tsp salt.  Let it cook until rice is tender and add in roasted cashews.

p3160113

p3170131

Lime Kale with Beans and Dill

It was my first time eating/cooking kale.  It was sort of a mix of spinach and broccli.  It was a nice dish but I’m not sure if its good enough to make again.  Although I’ve got a ton of kale left in the fridge that I haven’t even used.  Opps…http://whatsforlunchhoney.blogspot.com/2009/02/lime-kale-with-beans-and-dill-and.html

p3160126

p3170128

Punch

I don’t have a set thing that I do for punch but it always runs around club soda, grendine syrup, oj, cranberry juice, pineapple juice, peach juice, ummmm and marachino cherries.  Something of that sort.

p3160107

Apple Pie

Although its a pain to make your own crust and make your own filling, it’s totally worth it.  I followed Martha Stewart’s Pate Brisee for my crust, which has been a no fail for me. http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/ideal-pate-brisee

And for the Filling I always use http://www.honeyandjam.com/2008/11/as-sweet-as.html

I always do a lattice crust because its just prettier.  It’s so simple.  People find it to be difficult though.  p3160097

Cutting pie crust for lattice crust

p3160098

Before it goes in the oven:

p3160100

Afterwords, yummy flaky crust.

p3160118

The onllly downfall about this pie is when the juices run over the top in the oven and make a mess at the bottom.  I end up having to spray the oven with oven cleaner and scrub it out in the morn.

I just got my book in the mail yesterday, Twinkie, Deconstructed which talks about common ingrediants in the food we eat today such as corn syrup, polysorbate 60, sodium stearoyl lactylate etc….and it explains what they actually are.  I was so excited that I read the first chapter but I’m forcing myself to finish Sugar Blues before I go on or else I’ll end up reading 5 books at once again.  Sugar Blues is amaaazzzing.  Who knew sugar is worse than heroin.

16 thoughts on “Spring Fling

    fatboywholoveschocolateindisguiise said:
    March 17, 2009 at 4:11 am

    I only ate 1/4 of that pie. I don’t know what that whole half deal is about…

    canihavesomemoremum responded:
    March 17, 2009 at 4:26 am

    it’s ok i won’t disclose your identity

    watcat said:
    March 17, 2009 at 7:12 am

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

    Rema said:
    March 17, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    mmm looks all so yummy! i had about the same experience with kale! i got some since its so healthy but didn’t really want to make it again. haha

    culinarycory said:
    March 17, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Thanks for the referral. Your lunch menu looks wonderful. I love the lattice work on your pie.

    photographer said:
    March 18, 2009 at 2:38 am

    i kindly request photo credits…

    🙂

    aideh said:
    March 18, 2009 at 3:09 am

    hmm yummy this is awesome. I think I’m going to bel learning a lot of yummy recipes from here. ur awesome and keep on posting!!

    ps props to amnahs photography skills. its all in the frame and length and all that other photography stuff. 🙂

    salaamu alaikum!

    SarA said:
    March 19, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    The brown and wild rice looks absolutely scrumptious. love the menu planning 🙂

    Ashmin said:
    March 20, 2009 at 12:07 am

    That looks super YUMMY! i dont know why I have a thing w/ thinking i can’t make doughy pastry stuff from scratch…

    only made roti in high school

    Ashmin said:
    March 20, 2009 at 12:09 am

    As for kale one of my natural foodist/vegan friends suggested i eat that while i was pregnant as salad. so that’s the only way i had it. this looks interesting =)

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      March 20, 2009 at 2:50 am

      yah ima have to look for some more ways to prepare kale seeing that i have a bunch left in the fridge

    Ashmin said:
    March 20, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    so my nani-in-law is here and her and mama-in-law loves to garden…so they have greens: mustard, kale, collard, etc. squash they are going to plant while they are in AL. So, when I asked her how to cook the kale she said like you would spinach or any other greens.

    So, this is how I make my COLLARD GREENS which you could use on the kale too inshallah:

    stir fry little bit of chopped onions/ garlic until soft. add the kale or greens. after it releases the water and shrinks down a bit. add a bit of water w/ chicken bullion or stock if you have that and some red crushed pepper and salt as needed. cover and cook that until its soft. towards the end put bit of vinegar and brown sugar.

    this is the southern way of making collard greens and that’s how pretty much how they make , mustard greens as well. If I have sausage or turkey back I add that in it. =)

    Try it and let me know how you like it

      canihavesomemoremum responded:
      March 22, 2009 at 7:42 pm

      o wow this sounds great! my kale never softened but maybe because I didn’t cook it long enough. I’ll give it another shot though.

    Muzna said:
    March 30, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Ooo love the recipes and the pics! I want that pie man! PS- to prevent it dripping in your oven, put a cookie sheet under the pie, or on the rack below it, it’ll catch the juice and you won’t have to scrub it off the bottom of the oven =)

    Hadiya said:
    April 8, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    I was JUST about to post was Muzna posted. but that pie looks amazing, mashallah!

    Hiba said:
    November 26, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    oo i finally found ur famous pie recipe! i’ll try to make it tonight inshAllah. lol I hope it turns out okay!

Leave a Reply

