Mousse vs Creme de Pots?

Posted on

While I was on foodgawker, I saw a really easy recipe for chocolate creme de pots.  I wanted to try it but I didn’t have any whole milk on hand.  Instead I found a recipe for chocolate mousse (I don’t know what the difference between creme de pots or mousse is….anyone know?). 

When I added in my first egg yolk, I thought I had burned my chocolate as it clumped together, even though the recipe said it would get thick.  I just didn’t think it would get that thick.  I was going to start a new batch but I just kept going.  As I was folding in the egg whites, I was praying it wouldn’t leak out and make a nasty puddle of whites later on.  I just checked the fridge and the mousse has successfully set!  I can’t wait to dive in with some fresh strawberries.  Yummm.  One more thing to cross off from my List!

P9050083

Classic Chocolate Mousse (from here)

8-oz semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, chopped (or use chips)
1 tbsp sugar
4 large egg yolks
4 large egg whites, divided

In a double boiler, melt the chocolate while whisking as to not burn the chocolate.  Once melted, add in the sugar.  One by one, whisk in the egg yolks, making sure its thoroughly combined. Mixture will get thick. Remove from heat.

In another bowl, beat the egg whites till stiff peaks.  Add in 1/3 of the egg whites to the chocolate mixture with a hand mixer, smoothing out any chocolate clumps that may have formed.  Now fold in the next 1/3 of whites.  Fold in vanilla if you wish to add some.  Fold in the remaining 1/3 of whites until uniform in color.  Pour into either tea cups or dessert cups and chill for 1 1/2 hrs before you serve.  Makes about 6 servings.

If you’re not a fan of dark chocolate, I would opt to use milk chocolate or a combination of milk and semi sweet.  I did a 3:1 of semi to bittersweet.

P9050091 

I bought some raspberries last night and I was thinking about doing a raspberry coulis or raspberry gelatin layer on top next time.  This time I just had them on them on the side, nice and fresh. 

This has got to be the easiest and most simple dessert recipe I’ve done.  All you need is chocolate and eggs.  It’ easy on your waistline as well.  I know I’m definitely going to be using this recipe more often.

2 thoughts on “Mousse vs Creme de Pots?

    fatboywholoveschocolateindisguise said:
    September 7, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    I also think you should have a buddy over to help you eat it next time…;)

    Ellie@AlmostBourdain said:
    September 9, 2009 at 1:07 am

    This is so yummy and oh so easy to make!!

Leave a Reply

